Identity questions of Science & Technology Studies (STS) in Germany

Participants of 2023 Copyright: © Lennart Göpfert

From March 15-17, 2023, took place for the first time at the C.A.R.L. of RWTH Aachen University. The hub is a German Science and Technology Studies conference that attracted more than 300 participants. In the report "Being, doing, and using STS in Germany? Reflections on identity questions, normative commitments, and conceptual work after 2023", which was published in the EASST Review 42(1) 2023, organizers (Mareike Smolka and Lisa Wiedemann) and participants (Maximilian Braun, Carla Greubel, Philipp Neudert, and Cindy Rentrop) reflect on disciplinary identity questions raised by the event. You can access the article via this link. 2023 was organized by a steering and managing committee as well as a local organizing committee. The steering and managing committee consisted of Ingmar Lippert (chair) and, alphabetically ordered, Stefan Böschen, Paula Helm, Jan-Felix Schrape, Cornelius Schubert, Mareike Smolka, Jan-Peter Voß, and Lisa Wiedemann; it was supported by Sandra Abels; and the local organizing committee consisted of Stefan Böschen (chair) and, alphabetically ordered, Sonja Berg, Lilia Bolz, Ana de la Varga, Lennart Göpfert & the Leonardo team, Stefan John, Sally Römgens, and Mareike Smolka. 2023 was made possible by institutional and financial support from the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, stsing - Doing STS in and through Germany, GWTF - Gesellschaft für Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung e.V., INSIST - Interdisciplinary Network for Studies Investigating Science and Technology, Section for Science and Technology Studies of the German Sociological Association, Working Group Politics, Science and Technology of the German Political Science Association, Human Technology Center at RWTH Aachen University, Käte Hamburger Kolleg Aachen Cultures of Research, and RWTH Aachen University. Additional support came from the Commission for Science Research of the German Educational Association, the Chair for Sociology of Science and Technology at TU Dortmund University, and Team Innovativ Beratung UG.